Seven.

So, I am a gentleman who is guilty of the Seven Deadly Sins every day. meaning, I commit all of them every day. I am also guilty of beginning a sentence with the word “so.” While I’m at it, I’ll point out I unnecessarily capitalized “seven deadly sins.” I am not going to google the seven deadly sins right now, before I list them. They are: Pride, Wrath, Lust, Envy, Sloth, Gluttony, and Greed. the Latin Mnemonic SALIGIA covers the originals: superbia, avarita, luxuria, invidious, gula, ira, acedia. Okay, that’s not the point here, although the Latin terms give insight into the original connotations of the sins.

Gandhi, a man ostensibly personally acquainted with his share of deadly sins, came up with some interesting derivatives, or expansions on the theme. Gandhi said the following were the deadly sins: Wealth without work, pleasure without conscience, science without humanity, knowledge without character, politics without principle, commerce without morality, and worship without sacrifice. All right, pretty deep. I am slothful.

20131211-202009.jpg

Leave a Reply

